Chancellor May

Employee Recognition Awards Ceremony 2018

Staff Assembly recognizes Citations of Excellence recipients and staff and staff dependents scholarship winners

The annual Staff Assembly Awards ceremony was held on September 10th at the Walter Buehler Alumni Center Moss Patio. Brian Wadell, chair of  Staff Assembly, opened the award ceremony and welcomed Chancellor May to his first Staff Assembly Awards Ceremony.   Chancellor May spoke to the attendees and was joined by Provost Hexter in congratulating the recipients for their achievements.


Citations of Excellence

Staff Assembly’s annual Citations for Excellence awards program provides recognition for individual staff and staff teams. Thanks to generous support from the Office of the Chancellor, Staff Assembly awarded more than $15,000 to eleven individual staff members and three staff teams.

The Citations of Excellence awards program provides recognition for individual staff and staff teams, who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in one of the following areas:



Citation of Excellence Recipients


Chris Loza

Application Director, Financial Aid & Scholarships


Seth Watkins

Staff Research Assistant, Plant Sciences


Charlene Green

Director, Office of Student & Resident Diversity, School of Medicine

Lee Riggs

Library Assistant, UC Davis Library Research Support Services


Heavenly Clegg

Chief Administrative Officer, Languages & Literature

Brendan Livingston

Director, Enrollment Management Analytics

Kellie Sims Butler

Assistant Dean,  Graduate Studies


Leanna Friedrich

Undergraduate Advisor, Blue Cluster

Rosa Rodriguez

Associate Director, CANDEL Program, School of Education

Joanne Snapp

Director, Health Professions Advising

Citation of Excellence Honorable Mention


Daniel Ransom, Application Developer, Financial Aid & Scholarships


Kathy Miner

Chief Administrative Officer, Division of Social Sciences, Blue Cluster

Team Campus Community Contributions

Aggie Desktop Development Team

Dean Bunn, Janine Carlson, Ben Clark, Scott Dyer, Ken Jones, Sam Mosher, Brian Rose, Anthony Shriver, Chuck Sievers, Jeff Trask, Kevin Vellanoweth, & Ian Wright

Chicana and Chicano Studies Academic Support Team

Alma Martinez & Alyssa West

University Library Study Space Team

Cesar Gomez, Robin Gustafson, Jose Gutierrez,  Alain Javier, Rajendra Singh, Derek Sisneros,  & Daniel Villanueva


Staff and staff dependents were awarded $37,000 in scholarships. These included the Larry N. Vanderhoef Endowment Scholarship, Kathleen Moore Endowment Scholarship, Latino Staff and Faculty Association Scholarship, the UC Davis Retiree Scholarship, and the Staff Assembly Scholarships funded by the TGFS Vendor Showcase.


Staff Dependent Scholarships



Staff Scholarships

Larry N. Vanderhoef Scholarship

Vivian Khem

Systems Manager in Information Technology – UC Davis Health

Kathleen Moore Scholarship

Angelica Sauceda

Museum Scientist/Plant Records Specialist, Arboretum

UC Davis Retirees’ Association Career Enhancement Award & Staff Assembly Scholarship

Arnon Erba

Systems Administrator, Agricultural and Resources Economics


UC Davis Retirees’ Association Career Enhancement Award & Staff Assembly Scholarship

Eugenia Wong

Web Application Developer, Information and Educational Technology


Latino Staff & Faculty Association Scholarship & Staff Assembly Scholarship

Daniela De La Cruz Alvarez


Staff Assembly Scholarships

Matthew Musser

EEG Technologist, Neurology Department, UC Davis Health

Karen Anderson

Administrative Assistant , Center for Professional Practice of Nursing, UC Davis Health

Kyle Gayman

Communications Specialist, Academic Senate

Natasha Coulter

Academic Advisor, College of Engineering

Cindy Montijo

Patient Biller, Professional Billing Group/GMC Unit, UC Davis Health

Micky Kammerer

Assistant Nurse Manager, Department of Neurosciences, UC Davis Health

Kelly Macy

Physical Therapist, Home Care Services, UC Davis Health

Marlene Wilkins

Sports Medicine, UC Davis Health

Danielle Huddlestun

Undergraduate Advisor, Wildlife, Fish and Conservation Biology

Krisnita Devi

Medical Assistant, UC Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center

Tony Bico

IT Manager, Center for Comparative Medicine

Jennifer Thawley

Protective Services Officer, UC Davis Health

Shani Jinks

Benefits Manager, Human Resources

Daniel Ransom

Financial Aid & Scholarships

Darlene Ruiz

Community Education Specialist , UC Cooperative Extension

Madeline Verzola

Manager of Admissions, Student Services, and Outreach,  School of Nursing

Tomilola Kolade

Trainer, Physician Advocate Program, UC Davis Health