Staff Assembly Awards

2021 Staff Award Recipients

Staff Assembly recognizes the 2021 Citations of Excellence and Scholarship recipients.

Citations of Excellence

Staff Assembly’s annual Citations for Excellence awards program provides recognition for individual staff and staff teams. Thanks to generous support from the Office of the Chancellor, Staff Assembly awarded more than $17,000 to 14 individual staff members and three staff teams.

Innovation Award

Charlotte Acharya, Staff Research Associate, Genome Center

Honorable Mention

Emily Taylor, Systems Analyst and SEVIS Coordinator, Services for International Students and Scholars

Research Award

Cindy McReynolds, Research Administrator, Department of Entomology and Nematology

Honorable Mentions
  • Ana Lucia Cordova Kreylos, Strategic Initiatives Manager, Office of Research
  • Betty Guo, Associate Director of Grants Facilitation Unit, School of Medicine Office of Research

Service Award

Donald Dudley, Director, Office of Student Support and Judicial Affairs

Honorable Mentions
  • Stella Mancillas, Graduate Program Coordinator, Native American Studies
  • Pamela Pretell, Undergraduate Advisor, Arts Group Advising Center
  • Vince Ramos, Financial Aid Officer, Office of Financial Aid

Supervision Award

Marta Barajas, Deputy Director of Admissions Operations, Graduate School of Management

Honorable Mentions
  • Heather Kawakami, Financial Analyst/Business Office Supervisor, Plant Sciences
  • Elizabeth Lambert, Senior Director of External Relations and Strategic Communications, Graduate Studies
  • Tammy Silver, Assistant Director, Services for International Students and Scholars

Teaching Award

Nancy Chiang, Clinical Resource Nurse, Trauma Nursing UNit

Team Award

Keep Teaching

  • Armando Arbizo, Web Developer, IET Enterprise Infrastructure Services 
  • Bill Buchanan, Writer Editor, IET Operations
  • Jeremy Cooke, Producer/Director, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Bert Craig, Manager of Instructional Media and Creative Services, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Steve Faith, Instructional Designer, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Chris Gerkin, Producer/Director, IET Academic Applications
  • Cecilia Gomez, Education Specialist, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Ahna Heller, Communications Analyst, IET Client Success
  • Joshua Hori, Analyst, Student Disability Center
  • Tiffany Johnson, Analyst, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Andy Jones, Associate Director, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Tim Leamy, Computer Lab Manager, IET Client Success
  • David Levin, Analyst, IET Academic Applications
  • Meggan Levitt, Assistant Vice Provost Information & Education Technology
  • Julie McCall, Project Manager, Information & Education Technology
  • Margaret Merrill, Instructional Designer, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Barbara Mills, Testing Specialist, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Marco Molinaro, Assistant Vice Provost, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Meryl Motika, Interim Associate Director of Educational Analytics and Assessment, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Anita Nichols, Director, IET Client Success
  • Tobi Paton, Business Systems Analyst, IET Client Success
  • Michelle Rossi, Graduate Student Researcher, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Kem Saichaie, Associate Director of Learning & Teaching Support, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Fernando Socorro, Training Coordinator, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Matt Steinwachs, Lead Programmer, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Patricia Turner, Education Specialist, Center for Educational Effectiveness
  • Joey Van Buskirk, Instructional Designer, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Todd Van Zandt, Program Manager, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Mark Wilson, Instructional Designer, IET Academic Technology Services
  • Fei Xue, Graduate Student Researcher, School of Education
Honorable Mentions

Clinical and Translational Science Center (CTSC)

  • Rogelio Almario, Staff Research Associate, CTSC
  • April Cuellar, CTO Operations Manager, CTSC
  • Barbara Gale, Clinical Specialist, CTSC
  • Joe Panelo, Clinical Research Nurse, CTSC
  • Melisa Price, Community Engaged Research Specialist, CTSC
  • Leslie Solis, Research Associate, CTSC
  • Fred Stevenson, Business Systems Analyst, CTSC
  • Chinh ("Jimmy") Thai, Clinical Research Coordinator, CTSC
  • Jeff Trunnelle, Data Systems Analyst, Research IT
  • Josey Wong, Clinical Research Nurse II, CTSC

Large Proposal Team, Interdisciplinary Research Support Group

  • Marjannie Akintunde, Strategic Initiatives Coordinator, Office of Research
  • Christina Adamson, Senior Financial Analyst, Office of Research
  • Demet Candas Green, Editorial Coordinator, Office of Research
  • Sheryl Soucy-Lubell, Director, Interdisciplinary Research Support, Office of Research
  • Erin Watkins, Senior Editor, Office of Research 
  • Rachel Whitcombe, Research Development Coordinator, Office of Research


Staff and staff dependents were awarded more than $25,000 in scholarships.

Staff Dependent Scholarships

Dependents of:

  • Elrika Aritonang, SDCG, Patient Care Services
  • Dana Reed, Curriculum Planner, School of Medicine
  • Refugio Rios Custodian, Custodial Services

Kathleen Moore Endowment Scholarship

Leticia Garcia, Medical Assistant, Occupational Health

Larry Vanderhoef Scholarship

  • Paul Terry, Assistant Director, Cal Aggie Alumni Association
  • Ksenia Ustinova, Analyst, School of Nursing

Latinx Staff & Faculty Association Scholarship (UC Davis)

Paul Terry, Assistant Director, Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Latinx Staff & Faculty Association Scholarship (UC Davis Health)

  • Brittany Tinsey, Clinical Nurse, Patient Care Resources
  • Ksenia Ustinova, Analyst, School of Nursing

Margene E. Orzalli Endowment Scholarship

  • Kiernan Salmon, Product Manager, Facilities Management
  • Amy Shuman, Director of Workforce Development, Student Affairs Divisional Resources

Staff Assembly Scholarships

  • Jessica Acuna, Analyst, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Laura (Katie) Bucrek, Analyst, College of Letters and Science Dean's Office
  • Julieta Favela Barcenas, Business Office Supervisor, IET Business and Finance
  • Christine Felkel, Admissions Officer, Office of Medical Education
  • Victor Manuel Gabri Martin, SRA, Plant Pathology
  • David Griffiths, Project Manager, College of Engineering
  • Maricel Lumaquin, Analyst, School of Nursing
  • Briana Luna, SRA, Comparative Pathology Lab
  • Eloy Navarro, Analyst, IT Applications Operations
  • Monica Peña-Villegas, Regional Assistant Director, Undergraduate Admissions - EAOP
  • Maria Villagrana, Project Coordinator, Staff Development & Professional Services

UC Davis Health African American Faculty & Staff Association Scholarship

  • Stacie Aguil, Analyst, LOA Centralized Services
  • Marcel Lumaquin, Analyst, School of Nursing

UC Davis Health PRIDE Scholarship

  • Stacie Aguil, Analyst, LOA Centralized Services
  • Brittany Tinsey, Clinical Nurse, Patient Care Resources

UC Davis Retiree’s Association Career Enhancement Award

  • Kyle Clayton, Graduate Center Coordinator, Graduate Studies
  • Marcos Contreras, Pharmacist, Veterinary Medicine Teaching Hospital Pharmacy